Yuchai Dongte Special Purpose Automobile Co., Ltd. 当前位置: Home >>News>>World Events
Import vehicles into Lesotho

Import vehicles into Lesotho

Please note that   DONGTE-- DTA  manufactuer exporter to Africa   . People may find it daunting to export to  Lesotho  but not with  DTA. Email us now at tomking@dtatruck.com and discover the DTA difference.  DTA is known for its superior  integrity, great customer service, great prices, great selection, great quality and great speed of delivery.

The founder members of the East African Community Customs Union are Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. In December 2006, Burundi and Rwanda were admitted into the Union. Members of COMESA are Angola, Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Finally, South African Development Community (SADC) is comprised of Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The majority of our exports to  Africa are going to Maputo ,Durban ,DAR ES SALAAM, MOMBASA  , Port Louis, TamataVe,WalVis Bay,Pointe Noire, Luanda, Lome,Matadi, Owendo, LIBREVILLE, Bata, Malabo, Duala,  Lagos, Cotonou, Conakry,Tema, Dakar,Namibe based dealers who buy it for their customers in different parts of South and East ,west Africa www.dtatruck.com www.szdtruck.com  tomking@dtatruck.com

Thailand top new and used car 4x4 vigo triton exporter to LesothoLesotho is an enclave within the Republic of South Africa, with an area of 30,355 sq km (11,720 sq mi), extending 248 km (154 mi) NNE–SSW and 181 km (112 mi) ESE–WNW. Comparatively, the area occupied by Lesotho is slightly smaller than the state of Maryland.

Lesotho has dramatic snow?clad mountain ranges, high waterfalls plunging into deep basalt gorges, neat villages of thatched houses linked by only a bridle path to the outside world, small market towns where blanketed horsemen outnumber cars, and a unique capital, Maseru, where people from five continents work together to solve the nation’s problems.

These are but glimpses of a small and remarkable country whose survival as an enclave is testimony to an enduring national spirit; a country created by the wisdom and diplomacy of Moshoeshoe the Great; and a country which, in 1966, after 98 years under the British flag, again took its place among the family of nations.

The country of Lesotho is inhabited by the Basotho (Bah?SOO?too) people. The singular of Basotho is Mosotho (Muh?SOO?too). The language is Sesotho (Seh?SOO?too). The Basotho combine a respect for tradition, symbolized by the hereditary Head of State, with a keen interest in their modern institutions. Their history as a nation is a source of considerable pride. Since the days of their national founder, Moshoeshoe I (Muh?SCHWAY?schway) who ruled from 1824 to 1870, the Basotho have maintained their territorial integrity, and since 1966, their national sovereignty.

Because of its location, Lesotho is heavily dependent on the Republic of South Africa for trade and employment opportunities. A significant portion of Lesotho’s income comes from the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), of which Lesotho, Botswana, Namibia, Swaziland and South Africa are members. Most private commercial enterprises are small.

Leaded and unleaded gasoline are available in Lesotho and South Africa.

Lesotho Import Duty

Customs and quarantine regulations are essentially the same for Lesotho and South Africa. Duty of 100% is charged on a vehicle sold to a person without diplomatic privileges if the sale takes place within two years of the vehicle’s duty?free entry into the Southern Africa Customs Union area.

Lesotho belongs to a customs union called the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), with South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, and Namibia. South Africa levies and collects most of the customs, sales, and excise duties for the five member states, paying a share of the revenues to the other four. In addition, all customs duties are eliminated among the five countries. The SACU implements high protectionist tariffs on countries outside of the club, though, disheartening potential nonmember investors. In 1996, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) launched a free trade agreement for the elimination of tariff and non-tariff trade barriers between its member countries (Angola, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe), to be completed by 2010.

South Africa has put in place a value-added tax (VAT) for imports coming into the SACU from outside, but its implementation on Botswana's borders has so far been unsuccessful. Additionally, as a signatory of GATT and a member of the World Trade Organization, Lesotho and the rest of the SACU will have to reduce tariffs by 24% over the course of 10 years.

To import a motor vehicle you need the following documentation:

  • Registration Papers
  • Proof of Purchase
  • Proof of Ownership
  • Proof of Value

SACU (the Southern African Customs Union)

  • The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) is the oldest Customs Union in the world.  SACU came into existence on 11 December 1979 with the signature of the Customs Union Agreement between South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia and Swaziland. It entered into force on the 1st of March 1970, thereby replacing the Customs Union Agreement of 1910. It was renegotiated in 1994.

    SACU revenue constitutes a substantial share of the state revenue of the BLNS (Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho and Swaziland) countries.

    Products imported into South Africa can therefore circulate freely within these 4 countries.